Press Release

Communities of Color Urge LATFOR and NY Legislature to Adopt Unity Map Redistricting Plan

Image for Communities of Color Urge LATFOR and NY Legislature to Adopt Unity Map Redistricting Plan


Now LATFOR Must Protect and Ensure Communities of Color Have an Equitable Voice in Democracy

25 Diverse African Descendant, Latino, and Asian American Groups Urge NY State Legislature to Support the Unity Map

NEW YORK — Today, January 25, is the last day for the NY Independent Redistricting Commission (IRC) to submit revised maps to the NYS Legislature. If the IRC is deadlocked twice, LATFOR will likely officially draw new congressional and state legislative maps. A coalition of multi-racial groups are urging LATFOR and the NYS Legislature to fully adopt the Unity Map, which is the best redistricting plan for the people of New York.

WHAT: Virtual Press Conference, which will be a virtual building of the Unity Map and a powerful show of force by more than 25 multi-racial groups supporting the Unity Map because it keeps marginalized communities of interest whole, not divided, and thus stronger and empowered.

WHEN: Tuesday, January 25, 2022, 2:00 pm.- press conference followed by questions. Link for Press to register:


Lurie Favors, Executive Director, Center for Law and Social Justice at Medgar Evers College

Fulvia Vargas-De León, Associate Counsel, Latino Justice PRLDEF

Jerry Vattamala, Director, Democracy Program, Asian American Legal Defense and Education Fund (AALDEF)*

Marilyn Go (retired U.S. Magistrate Judge), Representative, Asian American Bar Association of the City of New York *

Chanel Turnquest, Co-Chair of Civic Engagement, Syracuse NAACP and Founding Member of Onondaga Votes!

Vanessa Leung, Co-Director, Asian American Children and Families

June Moses, President, West 135th St Apartments Tenant Association

Ahmed Butt, Civic Engagement Coordinator, Asian American Federation

Jagpreet Singh, Political Director, DRUM

Sandra Choi, Civic Engagement Director, MinKwon Center for Community Action*

Rachelle Ocampo, President, National Federation of Filipino American

Association-New York Chapter*

Jasmine Robinson, Board Member, Citizen Action of New York

Aminta Kilawan-Narine, Executive Director, South Queens Women’s March*

Mohamed Q. Amin, Executive Director, Caribbean Equality Project*

Deborah Young, President, Crown Heights North Association

Mae Lee, Executive Director, Chinese Progressive Association*

Crystal Feng, Program Manager, Asian Americans for Equality*

Subomi Macaulay, President, Westchester Black Women’s Political Caucus

Rehan Mehmood, Director of Health Services, South Asian Council for Social Service

Ashley Chen, Policy Fellow, Chinese-American Planning Council*

Brianna Cea, President, OCA Asian Pacific American Advocates-NY Chapter*

Petula Hanley, Bedford Stuyvesant Crown Heights Committee for Fair Redistricting (invited)

Sewaa Sandra Codrington, President, Macon St and Tompkins Ave. Block Association (invited)

Mon Yuck Yu, Exec. Vice President, Academy of Medical and Professional Health Services*

Representative, Woodside on the Move (invited)

(List in Formation)

Moderator: Elizabeth R. OuYang, Coordinator, APA VOICE Redistricting Task Force (*)



Sarai Bejarano⏐Manager of Traditional & Digital Media⏐LJ⏐212.739.7581⏐

Imani Dawson⏐Communications & Media⏐CLSJ⏐646.389.9520⏐

Stuart Sia⏐Communications Director⏐AALDEF⏐212.966.5932 ext. 203⏐

Liz OuYang⏐Coordinator⏐APA VOICE Redistricting Task Force⏐718.650.1960⏐