Save the Date: AALDEF's Annual Gala & "Justice in Action" Awards Celebration

Image for Save the Date: AALDEF's Annual Gala & "Justice in Action" Awards Celebration

The Asian American Legal Defense and Education Fund (AALDEF) will hold its annual Gala and Justice in Action Awards Celebration on Monday, May 20, 2024. This year’s gala will commemorate AALDEF’s 50th anniversary, and will be held in-person at Pier Sixty, Chelsea Piers, NYC.

Our 2024 Justice in Action Award recipients include: Sam Khichi, Executive Vice President, Chief Policy Officer and General Counsel of CVS Health, and Don Tamaki, Partner of Minami Tamaki LLP. The AALDEF Justice in Action Awards recognize exceptional individuals for their outstanding achievements and efforts to advance social justice. Past honorees include the late Congressman John Lewis, Preet Bharara, John G. Chou, Ivan K. Fong, David Henry Hwang, Viet Thanh Nguyen, Vanita Gupta, Neal Katyal, Sandra Leung, Don H. Liu, Thomas Kim, Mira Nair, George Takei, BD Wong, Kal Penn, Ronny Chieng, and Fareed Zakaria, to name a few.

We expect more than 600 leaders of the civil rights, legal, arts, and business communities from across the country to support AALDEF and to honor the Justice in Action award recipients. The evening will be filled with inspiring stories and remarks from our distinguished honorees. The evening’s festivities will begin at 6:00 PM ET with a cocktail reception and silent auction, followed by the Justice in Action awards ceremony and buffet dinner. Sponsorship information is available here. Individual tickets start at $2,000.

Founded in 1974, AALDEF is a New York-based national organization that promotes and protects the civil rights of Asian Americans. By combining litigation, advocacy, education, and organizing, AALDEF works with Asian American communities across the country to secure human rights for all. We’re suing Florida on behalf of a group of Chinese citizens over an unconstitutional and discriminatory law preventing them from buying land in large parts of the state, with an appeals court most recently blocking the enforcement of this law against two Chinese immigrants; last summer, we launched our anti-Asian violence toolkit, which gives guidance on evaluating policies and demands related to public safety and anti-Asian sentiment; and we have been conducting nonpartisan, multilingual exit polls of Asian American voters for decades.

Proceeds from AALDEF’s annual banquet provide major funding for our programs in Asian American communities to combat anti-Asian violence, protect immigrants’ rights, promote housing and environmental justice, and expand voting rights and democracy.

For further information, email:

Special thanks to our 2024 Benefit Committee Co-Chairs:

Arnold & Porter

Baker Asian Legal Network

Baker McKenzie

Bradley J. Butwin

O’Melveny & Myers LLP

Heidi Chen & Brett Lauring

Loyti Cheng & Raymond Y. Lin

Stan Chiueh

Friedman Kaplan Seiler Adelman & Robbins LLP

John Chou & Teresa Wallace


Mike Cowie
Dechert LLP

CVS Health

Kunal Dogra
Proskauer Rose LLP

Colin Dougherty
Fox Rothschild LLP

Ivan Fong

Medtronic plc

Marilu Galvez


Suhana S. Han

Sullivan & Cromwell LLP

Alice Hsu
Orrick, Herrington & Sutcliffe LLP

Marie Oh Huber

Hunton Andrews Kurth LLP

John Hwang

Allen & Overy LLP

Jackson Lewis P.C.

Jenner & Block LLP

Sue Jean Jhun

Atif Khawaja

Kirkland & Ellis LLP

Richard K. Kim

Wachtell, Lipton, Rosen & Katz

Thomas Kim & Erica Kuo

Sandra Leung

Bristol Myers Squibb Company

Loida Nicolas Lewis

Reginald F. Lewis Foundation

Jiang Liu
Morrison Foerster

Macy’s, Inc.

Enu Mainigi

Williams & Connolly LLP

Raymond T. Mak

Epstein Becker Green

Sharon Rivenson Mark, Stan Mark & Family


McDermott Will & Emery LLP

Dale Minami

Minami Tamaki LLP

Jeffrey Mok

Fish & Richardson P.C.

Morgan, Lewis & Bockius LLP

New York Life Insurance Company

Minh Van Ngo

Cravath, Swaine & Moore LLP

Norton Rose Fulbright US LLP

Paramount Global

Pfizer Inc.

Gimbels Pon & Sandra Leung

Meng Ru

Akin Gump Strauss Hauer & Feld LLP

Schulte Roth & Zabel LLP

Ayaz R. Shaikh

Mintz, Levin, Cohn, Ferris, Glovsky and Popeo, P.C.

Kevin P. Shea

Nixon Peabody LLP

Shearman & Sterling LLP

Paul J. Shim

Cleary Gottlieb Steen & Hamilton LLP

Brian W. Song


Sony Corporation of America

Douglas L. Tang
Patterson Belknap Webb & Tyler LLP

Calvin Wong & Susan Chong Wong

Dino Wu


Huiya Wu
Goodwin Procter LLP

Christopher Y. L. Yeung

Covington & Burling LLP

Dwight S. Yoo
Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom LLP

Andrew J. Yoon

Weil, Gotshal & Manges LLP

Marko S. Zatylny
Ropes & Gray LLP

Yan Zhang
Davis Polk & Wardwell LLP

Zoetis Inc.

Zuckerman Spaeder LLP